Accessories · Fashion & Style

Wet and Warm!

  I recently visited home and it’s been raining heavily ever since I arrived (my family and I live in the South-eastern part of Nigeria). Not that it rains daily but since I arrived on Thursday, it has rained heavily three times and this is just Monday! However even with the rains, the weather is both sometimes cold and at other times extremely warm. Right now it is positively hot and the power is off, thanks to whatever corporation that is currently in charge of the power supply.
I packed for a cool weather, I wasn’t expecting cold or very hot but I thought at least the weather in the South will be cool since serious rain would start April. So, my choice of clothing has proved not suitable. I take a lot of time deciding what to wear and what not to wear so I can be in tandem with the weather conditions here.
  So since in a previous post, I wrote about what will be perfect for the current hot Northern Nigeria weather (see For Northern Nigeria’s Weather), I think it will be useful and appropriate to write something for our wet and warm Southern Nigeria weather.

Here are useful tips.
1. Umbrellas
  In the previous post For Northern Nigeria’s Weather, I didn’t mention an umbrella! It is of utmost importance and something we ladies shouldn’t ever forget. For all of us ladies who still use the leggedis-benz and do not  have our own ride yet, it is more important as it protects us from the harsh weather conditions, not 100% but at least.
  It can be really bulky and get in the way, depending on the size of the umbrella but thankfully it now comes in different sizes, shapes and styles, and even foldable. There are also small sizes that can fit your handbags.

image

image

Most importantly you won’t get wet!

2. Cotton
  The beauty of this fabric is that it goes any way. It can be worn in hot, cold or warm weather. To get rid of the cold, pair it with an over-coat, a cardigan, jacket or a big woolly scarf draped over the shoulder. You can just pull it off once the temperature begins to rise. However it also makes for a chic, sophisticated look.

image

3. White  
  I am a bit hesitant here when it comes to white. Since the weather is a bit off and on and you can’t really tell when the heavens open and decides to pour, I suggest you stay off white clothing. It doesn’t look pretty getting drenched in white as it can get dirty very quickly.
  I love whites but you should stay away except you are absolutely sure and don’t mind washing!

image

image

4. Clinging or Tight Clothing
  You surely don’t want to get all wet and sticky, especially after a very busy day filled with activities. No matter how cool or warm the weather is on any day, you should let the body breathe. Your twin sisters are already packed and should breathe except if you do not have a full chest and can sometimes do away with the bra. Not wearing tight clothing will help the air circulate if not you will fell heavy and suffocated. In the Southern Nigeria weather, light rules.

image

image

However different strokes for different folks.

5. Sunshades and Hats

image

image

  I know everyone loves sunshades. To up your celebrity status, you probably have one or two and right now it comes in quite handy and useful. To top it off, pull on the hats or a face cap. Very nice combo!

image

image

7. Raincoats and Rainboots?
   The rainy season is not quite here yet so a raincoat is probably on the high side especially since we do not wear it a lot around here. I am not sure if a pair of rain boots can be tagged useful either, but if you can spare one, why not. I will have a post shortly on how to wear the raincoats and boots.

image

image

8. Sunscreen lotions
I am not the only one suggesting sunscreen lotions, we have been told to use them practically every where. To keep that beautiful skin looking lovely and healthy always, protect it with your sunscreen lotion or use creams that contain SPF. Visit your dermatologist for advice on the best sunscreen lotion for your skin.

image

image

9. Deodorant
  Deodorants keeps you feeling dry and fresh all day long. Spray or rub it in every morning and the sweating won’t get to your armpits. The fragrance from your deodorant will also help curb body odor after stressful activities. I suggest Revlon or Nivea deodorants, they are the only ones I know.

image

10. Eat and Drink Healthy
  Lots of fruits, vegetables and water. Try to always carry a flask or bottle of water, oh before I forget, your chilled bottle of Coca-Cola!

image

 

 

3 thoughts on “Wet and Warm!

  1. I like your blog. I bought a raincoat some time ago but I have not had the courage to wear it. Looking forward to your post on raincoats and boots

    Like

Leave a Reply

